Agbaje emerges Lagos PDP gubernatorial flag bearer

(December 8, 2014) A former gubernatorial candidate of Democratic Peoples Alliance in 2011, Mr Jimi Agbaje has today, 08/12/2014, won the PDP gubernatorial primaries in Lagos state. He polled 532 votes to defeat his closest contender, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro who secured 343 votes.

The rancorous primary election which was almost marred by violence ended about midnight on Monday.

Accreditation of delegates did not start on time due to disagreements over the total number of delegates for the primaries. 

The protests turned violent with sporadic gunshots by men suspected to be supporters of aspirants. 

It took the presence of security agents who were up to their task in ensuring that hoodlums and suspected political thugs did not truncate the primaries.

Meanwhile the PDP has advised aggrieved aspirants to take their case to the appeal committee of the party.

It emphasized that the candidature of the winner remains so.

In the meantime, Mr. Agbaje has promised to reach out to his co-contestants in the primary election towards winning next year’s governorship election in the state.

According to Mr. Agbaje, there is bound to be a winner and losers in any race and that what is necessary is for the parties involved to unite to jointly achieve the purpose for which they contested.

"My first assignment would be to bring others on board because we are determined to take over government in Lagos State.

Earlier, the only female aspirant who contested in the primary election, Mrs. Felicia Chukwuneye opted out of the race before the polls.

The PDP gubernatorial primaries in Lagos state primaries marked a significant step towards the race for the seat of government in Alausa,

Ikeja come February 2015 polls.

This is because another major contender which is the ruling All Progressives Congress has also thrown up a former Accountant General of the state, Mr. Akinwumi Ambode as its flagbearer in the forthcoming election.

FacebookTwitterGoogle Bookmarks
Pin It